Delegate list

Mr Trevor Abrahams
Secretary General, XIV World Forestry Congress 2015

Ms Tiina Vahanen
Associate Secretary-General, XIV World Forestry Congress 2015

More videos...

XIV WFC2015 Local Organising Committee

The Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries (DAFF) has established a Local Organising Committee (LOC) from a range of government and private sector institutions in South Africa. The LOC has Five sub-committees:

  1. Multi-Stakeholder Engagement
  2. Communications and PR
  3. Events, Logistics and Finance
  4. Security and Safety
  5. Technical

The Secretary General of WFC2015 is accountable to the LOC with support from the FAO Support Unit under Associate Secretary-General Tiina Vahanen.

The Mandate of the LOC is to plan and execute the promotion, organisation, and management of the Congress. It is also to ensure involvement of all relevant stakeholders that support the success and quality of the Congress. The members of the LOC are responsible for participating in the choice of the theme and development of the technical programme, giving strategic guidance to the Secretary-General and subcommittees, controlling the committees and activities, following the evolution of the implementation and proposing modifications as required, and approving the final report of the Congress.


The LOC members are:

Edith Vries Chairperson
Trevor Abrahams Secretary General
Pierre Ackerman University of Stellenbosch
Elaine Alexander Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries of South Africa
Felicity Blakeway CSIR Natural Resources and the Environment
Septi Bukula SA Business Events Ambassodor
Collin Dyer

Institute for Commercial Forestry Research
Keith Little  Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
Lindiwe Lusenga Department of Water and Sanitation of South Africa
Nthabiseng Malefane Department of International Relations and Cooperation of South Africa
Sibongile Mampe Department of Environmental Affairs of South Africa
Khatishi Masemola Food and Allied Workers Union
Viv McMenamin Forestry SA Exco
Xolani Mkhwanazi BHP Billiton
Shadrack Moephuli Agricultural Research Council, South Africa
Mmaphaka Tau Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries of South Africa
REP Department of Trade and Industry of South Africa
Steven Ngubane

Industrial Development Corporation, South Africa

Vuyiswa Nxasana Department of Rural Development and Land Reform of South Africa
K Tlhakudi

Department of Public Enterprises of South Africa

Kutelani Tshivhase

International Forestry Students Association

Department of Tourism